Me vs. boredom part 2

I really hate it when the title has almost nothing to do with what’s inside the article. I feel so cheated. And so I have to report that the link I was chasing down yesterday was a let-down. It wasn’t about boredom at all, it was about mind-wandering and if the teaser had just said “mind wandering is good for you” (rather than offering up that suggestive piece of poetry about boredom being a window worth throwing wide open), I wouldn’t have read it. Because I know mind-wandering is good for me. Because I have designed my life to allow for as much mind-wandering as possible. Turns out I needn’t have bothered because one of the more interesting points of the article is that most of us are mind-wandering 49% of the time. What stops us being “present” is the interestingness of our brains. Neat!

But still … I did appreciate that bit of poetry about boredom. It made me stop and think.

And then it led me to wonder how I stack up on the boredom front, so I tracked down a copy of the the Boredom Proneness Scale and found to my great relief that once again I am luckier than I seem to appreciate

According to the research, two-thirds of the population score between 81 and 117 in their propensity for boredom (the higher the number, the bigger the problem.)

A tiny percentage (2.3%) score above 135 or below 63.

I scored 62!

Then again I’m not sure I needed a test to confirm this. My problem with boredom isn’t the amount of it in my life, it’s the degree to which I suffer when despite everything I do to ward it off,  it manages to sneak up on me anyway. Boredom is never a one-tentacled beast.

More on boredom and the merits of its much finer cousins in the next instalment as I report live from our writers retreat here at the lovely Lattern Cottage.

Follow this link to get your own BPS score.

http://www.branes.com/tools/BPS.xls

1 Comment

Filed under Not in London, States of mind

One response to “Me vs. boredom part 2

  1. I don’t get bored easily. I daydream a lot without doing much else, but rarely do I find it boring. I can occupy myself inside my own head quite happily most of the time. Sometimes I will be listless and lethargic, lacking the energy or motivation to do anything very much and in these situations I might think I’m bored. But I don’t think it’s really boredom – I think it’s feeling a bit down – and there’s a fine line between being down and being bored.

    I got 64 on the test. I imagine writerly types (and others with non-stop creative occupations) probably do quite well on the boredom scale. It’s the busy heads.

Leave a Reply

