I’m OK, You’re OK

Did you know that “OK” isn’t acutally a feeling? I didn’t.

I mean I didn’t realize that “OK” was an inappropriate response to:

 “So, how do you feel?”

But come to think of it, isn’t that a fairly invasive question? Well, it can be. It’s also a thoughtful one. Just depends who’s asking and why.

Often I reply that I’m OK or Fine or Good rather than admit to something less neutral (even “Good, thank you”  is an empty reply in polite society), because I’m not actually aware of what I’m feeling. Or whether I’m feeling anything at all. 

Are feelings at large at all times?

Maybe some people live in emotional technicolour. For the most part, I do not. I spend much more of my time picking up on other people’s feelings, like the situation I just walked away from at the Dunkin Donuts around the corner from my brother’s apartment here in New York.

We’ve got Hurricane Irene beating a path this way and with less than 48 hours to go, they’re already down to only 3 types of munchkins and no Boston Cremes. I thought the guy in front of me was going to lose his marbles with the poor man behind the counter doing his best. The situation was definitely going red.


Anyway, I’m not really convinced feelings are a good idea, but since I know that  ignoring them can lead to long term bad news (like clinical depression or donut addiction), I sometimes refer to this handy wheel if I have no idea what’s going on with myself.

I was thinking of campaigning the Feeling Wheel people (who are you? where are you?) to include OK/Fine somewhere on this chart. Maybe it could be like a 4th outer circle?

Please get  back to me if you are in fact one of those in charge of allowing new entries into the wheel.

4 Comments

Filed under Not in London, Self-help

4 responses to “I’m OK, You’re OK

  1. Max

    Donuts definitely best food for “act of god follower” such as yourself. Hope you’re A-OK after Irene struts her stuff.
    Xx

  2. Heidi Barry

    Lately feeling like I hit every wedge of the emotion wheel on a daily basis…:)
    Seeking help for this….

  3. Catherine

    Gosh, I hadn’t seen the feeling wheel before. Rather interesting – thank you for that. Unfortunately, I’ve confused it slightly with colour me beautiful, so am focused mostly on the cool colours, which seem to suit both my personality and my skin tone.

Leave a Reply

