Save someone from drowning

For those of you holding your breath for the Me & My Money survey results, stay tuned later this week. Thanks to all contributors – it’s making for fascinating reading and some interesting findings.

Today I bring to your attention an article a Facebook friend posted on his wall. Drowning doesn’t look like drowning

As I recently learnt researching my own piece on drowning (which is concerned with what near-death experiences teach us about time management), the Hollywood version of a drowning person bears no resemblance to reality.

Someone really drowning is physiologically incapable of flailing their arms and making a noticeable commotion.

The author of this piece references some of the same sources I found along the way and importantly, lists the signs that someone has started to drown, while there’s still time to save them. Cheery, I know — but well worth a read as the Summer arrives.

PS. On a related note, I had my 1st swimming lesson (as an adult) last week at the Marshall Street pools; 3 days later and my legs still ache and I found the whole thing so much harder than I was banking on …. Still, no pain, no gain. Right?

4 Comments

Filed under Random idea, Sport

4 responses to “Save someone from drowning

  1. Andrea Wilson

    Hi there,

    If you are interested in what happens to time during near-death experiences, the New Yorker published an interesting article about David Eagleman, a professor of neuroscience who is investigating how time slows down to extreme degrees when we are about to face death, or when we are in high crisis situations. Here’s a link: http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2011/04/25/110425fa_fact_bilger

    I think time also slows down in really fabulous experiences. Maybe there’s a connection?

    Andrea

  2. nathaliehourihan

    Thanks for Eagleman link! Love him. And YES there is a reason why fabulous experiences, like near-death, appear to slow down time. Happy to share reasons in a forth coming blog.

  3. I’ve been thinking about swimming lessons (in a vague, non-committal kind of way). What was it like?

    Also, the drowning: it made me think of <a href="Not Waving but Drowning" by Stevie Smith… I guess the metaphor doesn’t quite work if you wouldn’t look like you were waving…

  4. nathaliehourihan

    Thanks for the poem! Found it @ this link
    http://www.artofeurope.com/smith/smi1.htm

    First lesson proved that am far weaker than would like to be. Instructor seemed OK – hard to judge on 1st lesson. I plan to stick with it – this is a short course and I’ll need to do more. The pool was very handy. I hate getting wet and having to run back to work but on Fridays I work from home so it’s an ideal slot for me. I think there are probably loads of lessons for adults. I needed to have a reason to get around to it … am allegedly doing a triatholon in Jan/Feb — Olympic (NOT Ironman) – hence the pressure is on to sort out my swimming.

Leave a Reply

